Were you or a loved one injured in a crash and have questions about our 6 car accident tips for you? Give our Florida lawyer a call today.
1) Car Accident Medical Bills
When someone’s been hurt in an automobile accident case, they often ask who is responsible for the medical bills. In Florida, our law is that your own insurance that you’re required to buy if you own an automobile, it’s called Personal Injury Protection, or PIP, or no-fault insurance. That is the primary insurance that pays first. If you have what is known as medical payments coverage, that’s an extra premium, it will pick up the other 20% up to the limits of the insurance, the no fault insurance, is $10,000, and medical payments insurance is whatever you purchase. Beyond that, if you have health insurance, that will be the next insurance to pay. That’s the order of things. Ultimately, if we resolve your case, the insurance company for the other side will be paying your claim, but in terms of the bills themselves, your own insurance pays first. If you’ve been hurt in an automobile accident case in Nassau County, Duval County, or the outlying northeast Florida counties or southeast Georgia, feel free to call us. We’ll be happy to sit down with you, help you, and guide you through the process.
2) Partial Fault Car Accident
When we talk to people who’ve been involved and injured in automobile accident case, they sometimes will say, “I think maybe this was partly my fault. Do I still have a case or can I still prosecute the case?” The answer is yes. In Florida, we have what is known as comparative negligence. Basically, the way it works is, if you have a claim and say we take it to trial, the jury will portion the responsibility to you and to the other side. If you are, for example, 50% at fault, the judge will reduce the jury’s verdict by that amount. Now, there are certain exceptions to that by statute of limitations. Generally speaking, that’s how it works. Don’t hesitate to call us, even though you think you may be at fault. We’ll go over it and talk about your case. If you’ve been hurt in circumstance like that in Nassau County, Duval County, or the other counties in northeast Florida or southeast Georgia, don’t hesitate to pick up the phone and call us. We’ll walk through that and figure it out for you.
3) Seeing A Doctor When You Don’t Feel Injured
Occasionally, when someone’s been hurt in an automobile accident case, they ask, “Should I go get medical treatment?” That answer is, categorically, yes. You should always, even if you think you may not be hurt, go get medical care, for two reasons. The first reason obviously is you may have suffered an injury and may not be aware of it. Let’s get checked out to rule it in or rule it out. Secondly, in Florida, you have 14 days to seek medical attention and have your own insurance, your no fault or PIP insurance to pay for it. If you don’t, they do not have to pay. You might be on the hook for those medical bills yourself. Go seek medical care immediately, even if you think you’re not hurt badly or even if you think maybe you’re not hurt at all. If you have such a case, don’t hesitate to call us if you’ve been hurt in Nassau County, Duval County, the other counties in northeast Florida or southeast Georgia. We will talk about these issues and figure out how best to help you.
4) Car Accident Available Damages
The damages you can recover in an automobile accident case in northeast Florida is a question we get regularly. If you’ve incurred medical expenses, that’s an element of your claim. If you have lost time from work, lost wages, that’s an element of your claim. If you’re expected to have future medical expenses, that is also an element of your claim. Damages also sometimes involve what we call intangible damages, such as pain and suffering, inconvenience, and loss of the capacity for the enjoyment of life. All of those go into valuing your case, which we do. If you’ve incurred medical bills, loss wages, you’ve been hurt in an automobile accident case in northeast Florida, Nassau County, Duval County, any of the other outlying counties in northeast Florida, don’t hesitate to call us. We’d be happy to help you and walk you through that process.
5) Car Accident Attorney Fees
People ask us every single time, “How much is it going to cost me to hire you?” In Florida, we have what is known as a contingency fee contract. Basically, what it provides is, if there is a recovery, we get our attorney’s fees paid from the recovery. If there’s no recovery, you do not owe anything. You will never have any out-of-pocket expenses if you come to our office. That is to level the playing field with the other side who’s paying their insurance defense lawyers with their unlimited resources. It allows us to get on equal footing with the other side and litigate claims. Understand that you will never ever have any out-of-pocket expenses if you come to our office with an automobile accident case. If you’ve been hurt in northeast Florida, Nassau County, Duval County, the other counties in northeast Florida, don’t hesitate to call us. We’ll sit down, go over your claim, and figure out how best to help you.
6) Other Driver is Underinsured
One of the things that we do when someone comes to our office with an automobile accident claim is we find out how much insurance the at fault driver has. That’s one of the very first things that we look into. We also look into how much uninsured motorist or underinsured motorist coverage that you purchased for this reason. Sometimes we find out that the at fault driver, the driver who hurt you, either has no insurance or doesn’t have enough insurance to cover all of your injuries. In that event, we look for other coverage, and hopefully, you had the foresight to purchase underinsured or uninsured motorist. That is an optional coverage in the state of Florida. The agent will ask you if you want it, and if you don’t, you sign a written rejection of that. We counsel people always to get that coverage because you never know who is driving out there underinsured or without insurance, period. Protect yourself with underinsured or uninsured motorist coverage in that event. If you’ve been hurt under those circumstances in an automobile accident case in Nassau County, Duval County, or any of the other counties in northeast Florida or southeast Georgia, call us. We’ll sit down and go over things and figure out how best to help you.
Were you or a loved one injured in a crash and have questions about our 6 car accident tips for you? Contact experienced Nassau County Car Accident Lawyer at Paul Boone Law today for a free consultation and case evaluation.
Like Us on Facebook